03-08-2017-BOOM

Pulp Fiction Newsletter 3/6/17

Only time for a quick intro today, but I’m really looking forward to reading Matt Kindt’s new book Grass Kings and the kid in me is giddy for R.L. Stine’s take on Man-Thing! See you at the bottom!
Upcoming Events

Sword Art Online – The Movie – Ordinal Scale Screening

Thursday March 9th
If you’re interested in free tickets, e-mail in with “SAO Movie” int he subject line by the end of today! Include you’re first and last name and  whether you’re from Los Angeles,Orange County, or the Inland Empire.
Wannabe Press Publisher Russel Nohelty Signing at CULVER CITY
Wednesday March 15th

More info: www.wannabepress.com

Crowdfunding Class
Saturday March 18th 3:30 – 5:30
Having successfully funded four Kickstarters for her comic Boston Metaphysical Society, writer/creator, Madeleine Holly-Rosing will share her very specific and practical strategies for running a crowdfunding campaign with a goal of under 10K. This class is designed for independent creators who cannot afford to hire a team or a PR person.

More info: pulpfictionbooksandcomics.com/art-classes

 

COMIC JAM @ Pulp Fiction Culver City
Saturday March 25th, 3PM-6PM

More info: https://www.meetup.com/Comic-Book-Jam/events/236536664/

 

New Comics Highlights

Click here for a full list of all of the week’s new releases.

Grass Kings #1
DEAL OF THE WEEK 50% OFF 

(W) Matt Kindt (A) Tyler Jenkins

From The New York Times bestselling writer Matt Kindt (Mind MGMT) and Peter Panzerfaust artist Tyler Jenkins comes a rural mystery series chronicling the tragic lives of the Grass Kings, three brothers and rulers of a trailer park kingdom, a fiefdom of the hopeless and lost, of the desperate poor seeking a promised land. Eldest brother Robert leads a grief-stricken life, having lost his daughter to a tragic accident, followed by his wife disappearing one morning never to return.
When an enigmatic young woman named Maria flees to their community in search of safe haven, Robert takes her in. Will his decision lead to ruin and retribution dooming the Kingdom? Perfect for fans of True Detective Season One or Scalped.
Oversized, prestige format first issue featuring 30 pages of story!

 

Nancy Drew / Hardy Boys #1
DEAL OF THE WEEK 50% OFF

(W) Anthony Del Col (A) Werther Dell’Edera

 

THE BIG LIE is a Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys mystery unlike any other you’ve ever read… When the teenage brothers Frank and Joe Hardy are accused of the murder of their father – a detective in the small resort town of Bayport – they must team up with the femme fatale Nancy Drew to prove their innocence (and find the real guilty party in the process) in a twisting, hard-boiled tale, complete with double-crosses, deceit and dames. Inspired by new crime classics like Ed Brubaker’s Fatale and Darwyn Cooke’s Parker series, writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin’s Creed, Kill Shakespeare) and artist Werther Dell’Edera (Batman: Detective Comics, House of Mystery) bring the iconic teen detectives into the modern age, and redefine noir for a new generation of readers!

Skydoll Sudra #1
(W) Alessandro Barbucci, Barbara Canepa (A) Alessandro Barbucci

Noa and her band of followers have settled on the beautiful planet of peace, Sudra, where religions and people co-exist in harmony. As Noa secretly plays at being a priestess, she begins to learn things about Sudra that suggest all is not as it seems…

Man-Thing #1
(W) R.L. Stine (A) German Peralta, Daniel Warren Johnson

MARVEL WELCOMES R.L. STINE!
Beloved writer R.L. STINE (Goosebumps, Fear Street) brings his special brand of horror to MAN-THING! After working for years, MAN-THING has regained his ability to speak and has taken Hollywood by storm…But when an ancient and mysterious danger threatens the swamp, Man-Thing is going to have to choose between his new life and celebrity, and the world he used to call home… PLUS! A bone-chilling new horror story, written by the master himself, R.L. STINE, and illustrated by the incomparable Daniel Warren Johnson!
Graphic Novel Highlights

Cannibal Vol 01 TP
(W) Brian Buccellato, Jennifer Young (A) Matias Bergara
A category five hurricane sweeps through the Southeast, uprooting ancient mosquitoes carrying a virus that causes the infected to crave human flesh. One year later, with no cure in sight, the region has become split over what to do with the victims. For the Hansen family, the answer is simple: kill them. However, all of that changes when the virus infects people they love. CANNIBAL is about a small Everglades town that is just trying to hold onto their everyday lives at the dawn of a cannibal pandemic. Told through the eyes of the Hansen family, it’s an anti-apocalypse story about a community that is too damn stubborn to give in. Collects CANNIBAL #1-4.

Cover Price: $9.99
Pulp Fiction Price: $6.99 (30% OFF)


New Mutants Epic Collection Renewal TP

(W) Chris Claremont, Bill Mantlo (A) Bob McLeod, Various
Meet the future of the X-Men! Karma. Wolfsbane. Sunspot. Cannonball. Moonstar. They’re teenagers, thrown together by the X-gene that makes them different. Follow the adventures of these young mutants from Karma’s first meeting with Spider-Man and the Fantastic Four to their early days at the Xavier School! The New Mutants’ on-the-job training begins in earnest with battles against Sentinels, the Silver Samurai, Viper and the Hellfire Club; a team-up with Spidey and Cloak and Dagger – and the team gets a taste of life as X-Men in a disturbing encounter with the Brood! Plus: Meet fiery new recruit Magma, and discover how Colossus’s sister, Illyana, became the demon sorceress known as Magik! Collecting MARVEL GRAPHIC NOVEL #4, NEW MUTANTS (1983) #1-12, UNCANNY X-MEN (1981) #167, MARVEL TEAM-UP ANNUAL #6, MAGIK (1983) #1-4 and material from MARVEL TEAM-UP (1972) #100.

Cover Price: $39.99
Pulp Fiction Price: $23.99 (40% OFF)

 


Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers Vol 02 TP
(W) Kyle Higgins (A) Hendry Prasetyo

As Rita Repulsa enacts her plans for world domination, the Rangers are left powerless and without Zordon to call on. This is the greatest threat they have ever faced and the world hangs in the balance. Enter the age of the Black Dragon from writer Kyle Higgins (Nightwing, Batman Beyond 2.0) and artist Hendry Prasetya (Power Girl). Continue the adventure with the untold origin of the Green Ranger with art by Thony Silas (Batman Beyond 2.0), and the continuing adventures of Bulk and Skull from Steve Orlando (Supergirl) and Corin Howell (Bat-Mite). Collects issues #5-8.

Cover Price: $16.99
Pulp Fiction Price: $13.59 (20% OFF)

Manga Highlights

Anonymous Noise Vol 01 GN
(W/A) Ryoko Fukuyama
Since both boys promised Nino that they would find her one day through her singing, she holds on to that hope and continues to reach out with her voice. Now in high school, Nino serendipitously reunites with Yuzu, but she yearns to see Momo again…

That’s it for this week!

-Max