Pulp Fiction Newsletter Week of October 17th, 2018

What’s up? Ryan is officially back from his honeymoon but I’m still commandeering the newsletter for (at least) one more week.  There’s a fair amount of new series starting this week for y’all to check out as well as the first volumes of some hit Image series!  If you haven’t checked out Gideon Falls yet, the first volume is in stores Wednesday value priced at only $6.99 (after PF’s signature 30% discount).  This psychological and supernatural thriller is perfect for fans of Twin Peaks. Get in on the ground floor now and be one of the cool kids when the alread-green-lit TV show comes around!

See you at the bottom…

Comics Classes With Jim Higgins 
 

Comics Class for Kids

Does your kid love to draw? Do they like comics? Then they’d love this class for kids all about making comics. They’ll learn the fundamentals of telling a story in comics form, plus basic drawing tips, information on how to write good stories, and fun activities that will help them learn all these skills. Click here for more details.

Making Comics with Jim Higgins

Making Comics is a 12-session class that focuses on the fundamental skills of creating comics.  The class is for both writers and artists. Click here for more details.

The Art of Inking – A Workshop For Comics Artists and Illustrators

In this one-day workshop, you’ll learn various different techniques to ink either your artwork or the work of others. Click here for more details.

Writing Horror For Comics And Film
In this online class, we’ll analyze various comics and films in order to understand some of the tropes, methods, and techniques used to make great horror stories as well as the reasons behind our desire to be scared. Click here for more details.

New & Noteworthy Comics 

Click here for a full list of all of the week’s new releases.

Exorsisters #1
(W) Ian Boothby (A) Gisele Legace

Did you sign a deal with the Devil? Has your fiancé been dragged to Hell? Then Kate and Cate Harrow should be the first ones you call for timely soul retrieval at a reasonable rate! But why are these identical twins so different? Is there a darker secret? An all-new ongoing series by Eisner Award-winning writer IAN BOOTHBY (The Simpsons, MAD Magazine), with art by GISÈLE LAGACÉ (Ménage a 3, Archie).

 

Lucifer #1
(W) Dan Waters (A) Max Fiumara, Sebastian Fiumara

Lucifer is missing. Having embarked on a dangerous journey to find the mother of his abandoned son, the Prince of Lies finds himself imprisoned and crippled by mysterious forces who seek to torment him for their own terrible ends. Meanwhile: a car is crashed, two witches blind themselves, a tumor speaks its first words, and a perfectly good bowl of oatmeal is left to go cold.

Shuri #1
(W) Nnedi Okorafor (A) Leonardo Romero

FOLLOWING IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF THE BLACK PANTHER! The world fell in love with her in the movie. Now, the Black Panther’s techno-genius sister launches her own adventures – written by best-selling Afrofuturist author Nnedi Okorafor and drawn by Eisner-nominated artist Leonardo Romero! The Black Panther has disappeared, lost on a mission in space. And in his absence, everyone’s looking at the next in line for the throne. But Shuri is happiest in a lab, surrounded by gadgets of her own creation. She’d rather be testing gauntlets than throwing them. But a nation without a leader is a vulnerable one – and Shuri may have to choose between Wakanda’s welfare and her own.

The Source #1
(W) Don Handfield (A) Charles Carvalho

The Source is the story of Bennett Miller, a high school teacher in East St Louis who still lives with his grandmother. One day Bennett is approached after his class by a mysterious old woman, Ms. Putnam, who tells him that magic is real… and he’s the one prophesied to return it to humanity. The only problem, it’s been outlawed for thousands of years by the ancient Few, a powerful sect who hoard it to prolong their own lives and will stop at nothing to keep it secret. Based on true history, real legends, and actual folklore and myths. Co-written by History Channel’s Knightfall writer Don Handfield and Joshua Malkin and Illustrated by Leno Carvalho. 

The Unstoppable Wasp #1
(W) Jeremy Whitley (A) Gurihiro

BACK BY POPULAR DEMAND!
•  Nadia Van Dyne, A.K.A. the UNSTOPPABLE WASP, and her team of girl scientists are back! With the backing of the original Wasp, Janet Van Dyne, there’s no problem the Agents of G.I.R.L. can’t solve!
•  But they’re not the only acronym-toting science organization out there, and when A.I.M. strikes, Nadia and the ladies of Genius In action Research Labs answer the call.
•  But who is A.I.M.’s new super-powered lieutenant, and how do they know Nadia? And what does A.I.M.’s plan have to do with Nadia’s father, Hank Pym?

Captain Ginger #1
(W) Stuart Moore, Grant Morrison (A) June Brigman

When the human race died out, the cats inherited the Earth! Or at least one starship. Now the intrepid Captain Ginger struggles to keep his fellow felines united against a hostile universe. Thirty-five pages of comic adventure-with a bite-by writer Stuart Moore (Deadpool the Duck, Batman: Noir Alley) and artist June Brigman (Power Pack). Plus: An all-new text story by comics legend Grant Morrison, “The Electric Sky Bear That Inspired Ben Franklin,” illustrated by Phil Hester, and a cartoon by Shannon Wheeler!

Marvel Zombie #1
(W) W. Maxwell Prince (A) Stefano Raffaele

NEW FROM THE HOUSE OF IDEAS! MARVEL ZOMBIES IS BACK…WITH A TWIST!
Years after an incurable zombie virus ravaged the world, a small colony of survivors is protected by the Marvel U’s few remaining heroes, including Spider-Man, Daredevil and the Falcon. But when their last chance at salvation arrives, will they be willing to sacrifice their own humanity in the process? From the twisted minds of ICE CREAM MAN writer W. Maxwell Prince and Stefano Raffaele (Generations: Hawkeye) comes the next macabre obsession for fans of The Walking Dead and The Road!

Infinity Wars Weapon Hex #1
(W) Ben Acker, Ben Blacker (A) Gerardo Sandoval

In a dark weapons program breeding subjects specifically for magic use, the 23rd attempt, now called Wanda, was finally able to connect to violent magics – making her one of the deadliest people on the planet!

New & Noteworthy Graphic Novels

Gideon Falls Vol 01 The Black Barn TP
(W) Jeff Lemire (A) Andrea Sorrentino

Picked up for TV by Hivemind after a multi-studio bidding war with long-time producing partners Sean Daniel and Jason Brown, Bad Robot veteran Kathy Lingg, and former Valiant Entertainment CEO & Chief Creative Officer Dinesh Shamdasani.
From the bestselling creative team behind Old Man Logan and Green Arrow comes a character-driven meditation on obsession, mental illness, and faith. The legend of the Black Barn-an otherworldly building alleged to have appeared and reappeared throughout history, bringing death and madness in its wake-ensnares and entwines the lives of two very different men. 

Cover Price: $9.99
Pulp Fiction Price: $6.99

Death or Glory Vol 01 TP
(W) Rick Remender (A) Bengal

Meet Glory, raised off the grid in a convoy of truckers, the last men and women fighting for true freedom on the American open road. Now, in order to pay for her beloved, dying Father’s surgery, Glory has three days to pull off four dangerous cross-country heists with mob killers, crooked cops, and a psycho ex-husband all out to bring her in or die trying. New York Times bestselling author Rick Remender teams up with legendary French superstar Bengal to bring you a high-speed chase across the American West that examines our dwindling freedoms and the price paid by those who fight for an untethered life.  Collects DEATH OR GLORY #1-5.

Cover Price: $16.99
Pulp Fiction Price: $11.89

Deadly Class Deluxe Edition Vol 02 HC
(W) Rick Remender (A) Wes Craig

Collecting arcs 4-6 of RICK REMENDER and WES CRAIG’s ongoing darkly humorous drama of the lives of ’80s teens training in a secret academy to either become assassins or stand up and become humans. Presented in deluxe oversized hardcover format! Collects DEADLY CLASS #17-31

Cover Price: $49.99
Pulp Fiction Price: $34.99

That’s it for this week!

– Max